

MINUTES GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING NO. 25 200 Southern Boulevard Albany, New York March 27, 2017

The following committee members were present: Joanne M. Mahoney, Chair Richard N. Simberg, Board Member Jose Holguin-Veras, Ph.D., Board Member Robert Megna, Board Member, via video conference

Constituting a majority of the members of the Thruway Authority Board.

Members of the Board excused:

Donna Luh, Vice Chair J. Donald Rice Stephen Saland

Staff Present:

Bill Finch, Acting Executive Director Gordon Cuffy, General Counsel Adam Wood, Chief of Staff Matt Howard, Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer **Richard Lee, Chief Engineer** Jennifer Givner, Director of Media Relations & Communications Brian Donnelly, Director of Maintenance and Operations Dave Malone, Director of Accounting & Disbursements Mark Hixson, Deputy Director Maintenance & Operations Major Joseph Dodd, New York State Police Harry Lennon, Director of Internal Audit John Barr, Acting Director of Administrative Services Stephen Grabowski, Acting New York Division Director Kevin Allen, Director of Purchasing Tony Kirby, Director of Real Property Management Dorraine Steele, Director of Fiscal Audit and Budget Mr. Maureen McDermott, Director of Human Resource Management Carlos Millan, Director of Labor Relations and Employee Safety Lilia Chen, Assistant Director of Employee Safety Frank Macarilla, Information Technology Specialist Kathleen LeFave, Board Secretary

Also in attendance:

Joe Bress, Chief Negotiator Karen Wilson, President CSEA Local 058 Paul Goetz, BST Carly Hill, FAIR Committee Karen Morrison, Vice President Transportations Services (AGC) Laura Steinberger – Private Citizen Scott Owens, Barrett Paving Steve Avveduti – Harrison & Burrowes Bridge Contractors Murray Bodin - Welded Steel Sculptures Greg Floyd, WRGB News Channel 6 Mark Zwinak, WRGB News Channel 6 Mark Zwinak, WRGB News Channel 6 Cameraman Jerry Olbrich, OGS Media Services Center Fred Abramson, OGS Media Services Center

Chair Mahoney designated Steven Saland to serve as Member of the Governance Committee. The current membership of the Committee is Vice-Chair Donna Luh, Richard Simberg and Chair Mahoney serves in the ex-officio capacity. Chair Mahoney in Vice Chair Luh and Mr. Saland's absence asked for the full board to vote on the agenda. The Governance Committee began at 11:49 a.m.

Ms. LeFave recorded the minutes as contained herein (public notice of the meeting had been given).

<u>Item 1</u> Approval of Minutes of the Governance Committee Meeting No. 24

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Governance Committee approved the minutes of the previous meeting held on January 23, 2017.

<u>Item 2</u>

Approval of the Revised Thruway Real Property Management Policy (No. 25-6-02) and Reviewing the Standard Operating Procedures (500-2) and the Thruway Personal Property Disposal Policy (25-6-01)

Mr. Howard presented to the Committee the suggested revised Thruway Real Property Management Policy.

Copies of the revised policy were provided to the Committee Members and are maintained in Authority records. Details of the Committee Members discussion with staff are included in the video recording of and maintained by the Authority.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Governance Committee approved revised Thruway Real Property Management Policy authorized their submission to the Authority Board for consideration.

*As required by law – a pdf of the Standard Operating Procedures (500-2) was provided directly to each board member beforehand as there were no changes to the procedures.

Adjournment

There being no other business to come before the Governance Committee, upon motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned at 11:54 a.m.

Note: Webcasts, which include dialogue of Authority Board Meeting, are available on the Thruway Authority website 48 hours after such meetings occur and remain on the website for a period of four months.